Pubblicato da: jlm | aprile 16, 2008

Rancid / Hyena

TITOLO: Hyena
AUTORE: Rancid
ALBUM: Rancid (1993)

Il primo lustro degli anni 90 ha visto l’esplosione del punk revival californiano, grazie a band, quali Green Day e Offspring, e in seconda battuta NOFX e Rancid, capaci di trascinare il punk rock a vendite milionarie e a portarlo su MTV. Questo plotone di gruppi ha incontrato il favore di mercato e il risentimento dei puristi: risentimento spesso basato più su ragioni ideologiche più che su attente analisi musicali. Pur non essendo capolavori, i primi lavori delle band di cui sopra hanno comunque contribuito a reinverdire parzialmente i fasti del punk: se il lato sociale e politico non potevano essere riproposti, il lato sonoro ha comunque trovato una dignitosa evoluzione.

I Rancid – almeno nei primi lavori – sono stati i più tradizionalisti e dotati del movimento e talvolta addirittura accostati ai Clash o ai meno noti Ruts. A livello di qualità e d’importanza musicale siamo distanti; tuttavia, l’accostamento non è campato in aria se si considera il piglio della band californiana, che poggia su un suono enfatico, basato sugli intrecci vocali (con i cori e le voci a ricordare il punk di matrice proletaria londinese), su influenze black, sul fenomenale basso di Matt Freedman e sui riff abrasivi delle chitarre di Lars Frederiksen e Tim Armstrong.

Hyena è un estratto degli esordi, dove la band era ancora un trio. L’attitudine street e proletaria (talvolta troppo sbandierata sui successivi album, tale da risultare troppo costruita) è evidente nel canto trasandato (per non parlare del look e del vastiario) e ben si concilia con l’andamento trascinante della canzone, che trasuda asfalto e ghiaia da ogni nota. Hyena bene riassume l’attitudine della band: i Rancid sono delle belve che si aggirano contendendosi lo spazio dei leoni del punk rock “

In questo primo album i componenti erano tre: Tim Armstrong alla chitarra e voce, Matt Freeman al basso e Brett Reed alla batteria. Infatti solo con il secondo album la band aggiunse un’altra chitarra e una seconda voce, quella di Lars Frederiksen, che cosi completa la attuale formazione.

Responses

  1. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done
    a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  2. I always spent my half an hour to read this website’s articles all the time along with a cup of coffee.

  3. you’re in reality a just right webmaster. The site loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing
    any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork.

    you’ve done a fantastic activity in this topic!

  4. That is very attention-grabbing, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for searching for more of your great post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  5. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  6. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost
    a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  7. My partner and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page again.

  8. Wow, this piece of writing is fastidious, my sister
    is analyzing such things, so I am going to convey her.

  9. Les bon sites de rencontre s’avère être l’un des
    plus populaires sites pour rencontre présente en ce moment sur le
    l’internet. Avec le soutien a plus de 3, 000,000 usages, cette plateforme de rencontre a une forte présence aux quatre coins du monde. Le but premier Un vrai site de rencontre s’avère
    d’aider les membres a dénicher le ou la candidate de rêve afin de développer une amitié concrète en dehors du Les rencontre en ligne. Toutefois, la plupart des membres font la visitent ce site afin leur cercle d’amitié.
    Pour allègé la tache de tous les membres en ce qui est a trait de
    la mise en contact, Les bon sites de rencontre propose
    une panoplie d’apport intéressant afin de maximiser les occasions heureuses de établir la bonne rencontre dans un court laps de temps concevable.

  10. Hi to every one, the contents existing at this website
    are in fact amazing for people experience, well, keep
    up the good work fellows.

  11. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  12. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like
    to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  13. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look.

    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and excellent design.

  14. constantly i used to read smaller articles which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am
    reading here.

  15. This site definitely has all the info I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  16. Quality articles is the secret to interest the people to visit the site, that’s what this website is providing.

  17. I’m no longer certain where you’re getting your info, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or working out
    more. Thank you for wonderful info I was searching for this information for my mission.

  18. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours as of late, yet I by no means found any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty price enough for me.

    In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as
    you did, the web might be much more useful than ever before.

  19. I am now not certain the place you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  20. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a
    comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  21. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Ie.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post
    to let you know. The design and style look great though!
    Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Kudos

  22. You should be a part of a contest for one of
    the greatest websites on the internet. I am going to recommend this website!

  23. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.
    Outstanding choice of colors!

  24. certainly like your web-site however you need
    to check the spelling on several of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to inform the reality then again I will definitely
    come back again.

  25. Tremendous things here. I’m very glad to look your article.
    Thanks a lot and I am taking a look forward to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  26. Hello there, You’ve done an incredible job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  27. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for
    such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  28. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole
    my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad
    is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but
    I had to share it with someone!

  29. Great weblog right here! Additionally your website quite a bit up fast!
    What host are you the use of? Can I get your associate link to your host?

    I desire my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol


Rispondi

Categorie

